Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research


Prof Wajih Owais

General Information

Higher education in Jordan continued to develop until the first Jordanian university was established in the capital Amman in 1962, and was named University of Jordan. Fifteen years later, Yarmouk University was established in the northern city of Irbid in 1976, followed by the establishment of Moutah University in the south near the city of Karak in 1981. In 1986, some science faculties were separated to form another university named the Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST). Aal Al Bait University was then established in 1994, followed by the Hashemite University in 1995. Balqa Applied University was established in 1997 and undertook the responsibility of re-organizing community colleges and rectifying their curriculum in addition to being an official university granting Bachelor degrees similar to other official universities.

In addition, four-year university colleges were established, such as Amman University College for Technological Engineering in 1988 and College of Da’wa and Religious Principles in 1990. In 1999, the University of Al Hussein Ibn Talal was established in the city of Ma’an in the south.

In 1989, the Private Universities Law was enacted, permitting the establishment of private universities, and the first private university was established in 1990, followed by the establishment of a number of private universities, reaching twelve private institutes of higher education at present.

Interest in the supervision of higher education lead to the Higher Education Law, passed in 1980. In 1982, the Higher Education Board was established, followed by the Ministry of Higher Education in 1985, and the Higher Education Law no. (28) for the year 1985 was enacted, setting the objectives of higher education as well as the authorities and responsibilities of the Higher Education Board and the Ministry of Higher Education and its relations with institutes of higher education.

Thirteen years later, the Higher Education Law no. (6) for the year 1998 was enacted, canceling the Ministry of Higher Education and replacing it with the Higher Education Council, and affiliating community colleges with Al Balqaa Applied University.

On June 19, 2000, the Royal Address of His Majesty King Abdullah II appointing the new cabinet, included the re-establishment of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, to undertake the supervision and close control of public and private institutes of higher education and work towards raising their level to become a model of advanced education, so that Jordan’s educational plans and programs are connected to the needs of its community and its aspirations for development and change.

Contact Information

  • City
  • Amman
  • PO Box
  • 138 Aljbaha 11941 Jordan / 35262 Amman 11180 Jordan
  • Address
  • AlJubaiha - Amman - The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • ZIP Code
  • 11941
  • Fax
  • 962-6-5349079


Government Entities

  • Prime Ministry

  • Ministries image


  • Government Agencies image

    Government Agencies